Anchorage Arson Defense Attorney
Is Arson a Felony in Alaska?
If you have been arrested and charged with arson in Alaska you could be facing a Class B or A felony with lengthy prison sentences and expensive fines. Our legal team can conduct a thorough investigation into your case and collect crucial evidence to build an aggressive and personalized defense strategy for you. As a former prosecutor, our Anchorage criminal defense lawyer can anticipate how the prosecution will approach your case, giving you the upper-hand in the courtroom.
At Denali Law Group, we have helped countless of clients obtain the most favorable outcomes possible in a variety of violent crimes, including arson. With more than 75+ years of collective experience, our Anchorage criminal defense attorney possesses the comprehensive knowledge of Alaska laws and court proceedings to guide you through every step of the way. Let us protect your rights, reputation, and freedom immediately.
What Are Alaska’s Penalties for Arson?
There are two types of arson charges in Alaska: arson in the first degree and arson in the second degree. In order to be guilty of arson in the first degree, you must intentionally damage any property by starting a fire or causing an explosion, and by that act, you place another individual in danger of serious bodily injury. First-degree arson is considered a Class A felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of 20 years and a fine of up to $250,000.
Arson in the second degree consists of the same elements of arson in the first degree; however, the crime doesn’t involve placing another person’s life in danger or serious injury. Second-degree arson is a Class B felony, punishable by a maximum prison sentence of ten years and a fine of up to $100,000.
Call (907) 357-5297 to speak with our firm.