DUI Lawyers & Attorneys in Alaska.
DUIs are weighty matters. If you have been charged more than once, the potential penalties worsen and could result in life-altering consequences. Furthermore, there are numerous aggravating factors that, if they occur, can have you face significant prison time.
At Denali Law Group, we prioritize analyzing the entire case from the moment the police officer sees your vehicle. You can be sure that we work hard to vigorously defend you from the punishment you may face if you are convicted.
Misdemeanor and Felony Penalties for DUI Charges in Alaska
Penalties of a DUI conviction in Alaska should always be taken seriously. Misdemeanor DUI penalties include jail time, fines, a period of license revocation, and an ignition interlock device.
A person is guilty of a class C felony if convicted for a DUI or Refusal misdemeanor two or more times within the ten years preceding the date of the present offense. For purposes of determining a minimum sentence for a DUI felony conviction the court shall impose a fine of not less than $10,000 and a minimum sentence of imprisonment of not less than 120 days and up to 360 days.
How do I get an ignition interlock device?
The DMV has a list of providers; click here for a link to the DMV.
Should I partake in an alcohol treatment program?
Our job is to achieve the best possible result in your court case, and we will do everything possible to resolve your matter in a manner that serves your best interests. We will happily discuss your thoughts on pursuing treatment, but it is ultimately your decision. It never hurts when attempting to negotiate a DUI charge to a lesser offense to have already enrolled in an alcohol treatment program before your case is ultimately resolved.
What are possible consequences of a DUI conviction in Alaska?
You can face additional ramifications for a DUI conviction in Alaska. They include:
- CDL: Upon the first conviction for DUI, you will lose your Commercial Driver’s License for a minimum of one year. Upon any subsequent conviction for DUI, you will lose it for life.
- Must enroll and complete the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP): The amount of treatment depends on the treatment provider's recommendation.
- 10 points on your DMV Record
- SR-22 Insurance: 5 Years for the First Offense DUI. 10 Years for Second Offense DUI. 20 Years for Third Offense DUI.