First Time DUI Attorney in Alaska
Charged with a first offense DUI in Alaska? We Can Protect Your Rights
Being arrested for a DUI can be a frightening experience, especially if it’s your first time. Typically, DUI clients who are first-time offenders have never previously faced criminal charges, giving law enforcement the advantage of exploiting an individual who is unaware of his rights. That’s why it’s imperative to remain silent, despite your anxiousness to resolve the matter upon your arrest.
Call our first DUI offense attorney in Anchorage today to learn more about how we can defend you.
The two ways which an individual may be arrested and charged with a DUI offense include:
- Displaying signs of intoxication upon arrest
- Operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08% or over
First Offense DUI Penalties in Alaska
If a person has not been convicted of a DUI in Alaska within the past 15 years, then it is considered a first offense. If the first DUI offense did not result in an accident where another individual is severely injured or killed, then it is categorized as a misdemeanor.
First time DUI offense penalties are the following:
- Minimum jail sentence of 72 hours
- Fines of up to $1,500
- License suspension for a minimum 90 days
- Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device
As long as you didn’t refuse a breath test, you are eligible to apply for a limited license after the first 30 days of the revocation period have transpired. Prior to the DMV granting you a limited license or reinstate your license after your revocation period has ended, you must pay the various license reinstatement fees and adhere to the license reinstatement process as outlined by the Alaska DMV.
Let Our Anchorage DUI Lawyers Fight For You
Not only will a DUI result in jail time and expensive fines, but a permanent mark on your criminal record. This can make registering for college, getting a job, or purchasing a home extremely difficult. With over 75 years of collective experience, our Anchorage DUI defense attorneys at Denali Law Group can provide the high-quality legal representation necessary to put this simple mistake behind you for good.
Contact our Anchorage DUI defense attorneys to make an appointment for a case evaluation today!