For any local calls, please dial our 10 digit phone number to reach us. For long distance calls, please enter +1 before dialing out 10 digit phone number. Thank you!
DUI

Anchorage DUI Attorney

Penalties You May Face for DUI Charges in Alaska

DUIs are very serious matters. If you have been charged more than once, the potential penalties worsen and could result in life-altering consequences. Furthermore, there are numerous aggravating factors involved that, if they occur, can have you facing significant time in prison. At Denali Law Group, we make it a priority to analyze the entire case from the moment the arrest occurred. You can be sure that we work hard to vigorously defend you from the punishment that you may face if you are convicted.

To request your complimentary review, call (907) 357-5297 today.

Penalties of a DUI conviction in Alaska depend on factors such as the type of charge, and should always be taken seriously. Read below to learn more about DUI penalties in Alaska.

Misdemeanor DUI Penalties

First Offense

  • Not less than 72 consecutive hours in jail
  • A fine of not less than $1,500 if the person has not been previously convicted
  • 90 Day License Revocation
  • 6 Months of Ignition Interlock Device

Second Offense

  • Not less than 20 days in jail
  • A fine of not less than $3,000 if the person has been previously convicted once
  • 1 year License Revocation
  • 12 Months of Ignition Interlock Device

Third Offense

  • Not less than 60 days in jail
  • A fine of not less than $4,000 if the person has been previously convicted twice and is not subject to punishment under (n) of AS 28.35.030
  • 3 year License Revocation
  • 18 Months of Ignition Interlock Device.

Forth Offense

  • Not less than 120 days in jail
  • A fine of not less than $5,000 if the person has been previously convicted three times and is not subject to punishment under (n) of AS 28.35.030
  • 5 year License Revocation
  • Throughout the period of probation, an Ignition Interlock Device must be used

Fifth Offense

  • Not less than 240 days in jail
  • A fine of not less than $6,000 if the person has been previously convicted four times and is not subject to punishment under (n) of AS 28.35.030
  • 5 year License Revocation
  • Throughout the period of probation, an Ignition Interlock Device must be used

Sixth Offense

  • Not less than 360 days in jail
  • A fine of not less than $7,000 if the person has been previously convicted more than four times and is not subject to punishment under (n) of AS 28.35.030
  • Throughout the period of probation, an Ignition Interlock Device must be used

*Period of probation for a misdemeanor is typically for 3 years from the Date of Conviction.

Felony DUI Penalties

A person is guilty of a class C felony if the person is convicted under the misdemeanor section and either has been previously convicted two or more times since January 1, 1996, and within the 10 years preceding the date of the present offense, or punishment under this subsection or under AS 28.35.032 (p) [Refusal Statute] was previously imposed within the last 10 years.

For purposes of determining minimum sentences based on previous convictions, the court shall impose a fine of not less than $10,000 and a minimum sentence of imprisonment of not less than:

  • 120 days if the person has been previously convicted twice (of misdemeanors)
  • 240 days if the person has been previously convicted three times
  • 360 days if the person has been previously convicted four or more times

Revocation of your Driving Privilege for Life if convicted of a Felony DUI: You may be eligible to apply for a license after 10 years, but it is within the discretion of the DMV whether or not to grant you a license.

*The period of probation for a felony is typically for 3-5 years from the Date of Conviction. You will be supervised by a probation officer and have terms and conditions of probation you will have abide by.

Ignition Interlock Device

The IID, (as it is commonly referred) will cost a monthly fee. The fee for the IID may be directly subtracted from the fine which is due in your DUI criminal case if convicted. Alaska Monitoring & Drug Testing, 370 East Railroad Ave., Wasilla AK 99654 provides the device for your vehicle. Their phone number is 907-715-1345. The DMV has a list of other providers, but we recommend this company to our clients given the technology it utilizes. You can also click here for a link to the DMV.

Alcohol Treatment Programs

People who have been arrested for DUI sometimes ask us if they should get alcohol treatment. Our expertise is in the legal field. Our job is to achieve the best possible result in your court case, and we will do everything possible to resolve your case in a manner that serves your best interests. Rather or not you pursue treatment is a decision we will happily discuss with you, but is ultimately your decision.

In addition, if your license should be revoked for a first offense, enrollment in an alcohol treatment program is required for you to obtain a limited (work) permit. In that event, you would need to contact ASAP (Alaska Alcohol Safety Action Program) to enroll in a state approved program.

It never hurts, in attempting to negotiate a DUI charge to a lesser offense, if you have already enrolled in an alcohol treatment program before your case is ultimately resolved. Finally, if the court should later order you to complete treatment recommended by ASAP, you will not have to repeat that treatment if you have already done so through ASAP.

Other Consequences of a DUI Conviction

You can face additional ramifications for a DUI conviction in Alaska. They include:

  • CDL: Upon a first conviction for DUI you will lose your Commercial Driver’s License for minimum one year. Upon any subsequent conviction for DUI you will lose it for life.
  • Must enroll and complete ASAP: The amount of treatment is dependent on the recommendation by the treatment provider.
  • 10 Points on your DMV Record
  • SR-22 Insurance: 5 Years for the First Offense DUI. 10 Years for Second Offense DUI. 20 Years for Third Offense DUI. Any more convictions then if the person is licensed to drive they must provide SR-22 Insurance.

We realize that there is a great deal of information here, and that it may appear overwhelming. You cannot change what has already happened, so our suggestion is you not expend too much energy and emotion on the past. Rather, try to think positively and rationally about the future, and rest assured that we will work our hardest to obtain the best possible result for you in your case. That is what we do best.

Dedicated to Your Future & Freedom

When you are arrested for and charged with driving under the influence (DUI), it is important to act swiftly in order to retain an Anchorage DUI lawyer. At Denali Law Group, we are well aware of the penalties that you may face and making sure you have legal counsel can go a long way in reducing the punishment or having your case dismissed altogether.

We have more than 75 years of experience in the legal field. Our team is dedicated to helping you retain your right to drive in the future as we know how important it is to your everyday life. You can trust us to build a strong defense on your behalf and work towards the most favorable outcome possible.

If you have been arrested for your first DUI or your child is facing underage DUI charges, we encourage you to not say anything. Speak with our firm before you discuss any part of your case with a law enforcement officer. By speaking with law enforcement, you open yourself up to incriminating statements. With our Anchorage criminal defense team on your side, you can have peace of mind knowing that we work hard to make sure your side of the story is heard.

Call us to begin. We can be reached at (907) 357-5297.

WHY CHOOSE OUR FIRM?

  • Confidential Case Consultation Available
  • Dedicated to Providing Effective Legal Services
  • Highest Quality Legal Representation
  • Former Prosecutors Defending Your Rights

PUT OUR DEDICATED LEGAL EXPERIENCE IN YOUR CORNER

/

Client testimonials

See What People are Saying About Us
  • “If you hire this law firm, consider yourself lucky that you have a team working for you who know what they are doing.”

    - Karl F.
  • “Richard Payne and his team have always provided excellent legal services to our family over the past 10 years. We trust their advice always!”

    - William B.
  • “Not only did we win, but I got more than what I was expecting!”

    - Barbara W.
  • “Extremely compassionate and very competent from the staff throughout the whole office including the attorneys we have worked with.”

    - M.W.
  • “The process went smoothly and was accomplished in a timely manner! I would recommend Denali Law Group to anyone and will plan on using them in the future if the need arises!”

    - Ginger P.
/

Contact Denali Law Group Today

Put Our Dedicated Legal Experience in Your Corner
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please enter your city.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.