Drug Sales Defense Attorneys in Anchorage
Serving Alaska from Offices in Anchorage & Wasilla
While simply possessing a dangerous controlled substance can result in extensive jail sentences and expensive fines, the penalties for selling or trafficking drugs in Alaska are much more severe. The state considers charges for sale and trafficking to be the same offense, however, trafficking is generally prosecuted on the federal level, while sales may be prosecuted by either state or federal courts, depending on the circumstances of the arrest. If you have been charged with selling illegal drugs, it is imperative you obtain legal representation from an experienced defense attorney.
At Denali Law Group, we are committed to helping you get your charges reduced or your case entirely dismissed. With more than 75 years of combined experience, our Anchorage drug crime attorneys possess the comprehensive understanding of the state legal system in order to get the results you want. Do not hesitate to hire qualified legal assistance immediately.
Request a confidential case evaluation today!
Penalties for Selling Drugs in Alaska
Alaska categorizes all controlled dangerous substances (CDS) crimes into five degrees, with misconduct in first-degree being considered as most significant. Sale or distribution of CDS involves all five degrees, which all result in felonies except for misconduct of the fifth-degree.
The following are the five degrees of misconduct, the corresponding penalties and the actions that warrant each conviction:
Misconduct in the first-degree – An unclassified felony, punishable by imprisonment of five to
99 years and a maximum fine of $500,000
- Sale of any amount of Schedule IA CDS to an individual under 19 years of age who is at least three years younger than the defendant
- Sale of any amount of Schedule IIA or IIIA CDS to a person an individual under 19 years of age who is at least three years younger than the defendant
- Being involved in a continuing criminal enterprise with at least five other people and gaining substantial income due to felony distribution of CDS
Misconduct in the second-degree – Class A felony, punishable by imprisonment up to 20 years and
a maximum fine of $250,000
- Sale of any amount of Schedule IA CDS
- Sale of a derivative of methamphetamine (such as salts or isomers) or prohibited chemicals to another individual with reckless disregard of the fact that the material will be used to manufacture any substance that involves methamphetamine, its salts, and isomers.
Misconduct in the third-degree – Class B felony, punishable by imprisonment of up to 10 years and
a maximum fine of $100,000
- Sale of any amount of a Schedule IIA or IIIA CDS
- Sale of any amount of Schedule IVA, VA, or VIA CDS to a person under 19 years of age who is at least three years younger than the defendant
Misconduct in the fourth-degree – Class C felony, punishable by a maximum five-year prison sentence
and a maximum fine of up to $50,000.
- Sale of any amount of Schedule IVA or VA CDS
- Sale of any preparation, compound, or substance with a total weight of one ounce or more which contains a Schedule VIA CDS
Misconduct in the fifth-degree – Class A misdemeanor, punishable a maximum jail sentence of one
year and a fine of up to $10,000
- Sale of any preparation, compound, or substance with a total weight of less than one ounce which contains a Schedule VIA CDS
Denali Law Group Is on Your Side
Our firm can conduct a thorough investigation into your case and gather evidence necessary to develop an aggressive and customized defense strategy for you. Since some of our Anchorage drug sale defense attorneys are former prosecutors, we can give you the advantage of anticipating how the prosecution will approach your case. Let us protect your rights, reputation, and freedom today.
Contact us and schedule an appointment with our legal team today.