Anchorage Drug Crimes Lawyer
Marijuana Laws in Alaska
While some are incredibly strict and control marijuana with laws similar to that of major opiates, others are more forgiving. Alaska is one of the latter: while our laws are still strict and misconduct could land you in serious trouble, several actions are legally permitted. If you want to avoid being arrested and charged with a crime, you’ll want to make sure you know the laws.
- Possession - An Alaskan Supreme Court decision gave the opinion that possession and private consumption of marijuana in your own home is protected by the right-to-privacy provision in our state’s constitution. As such, possession of a limited amount (less than four ounces) in your own home is legal. Furthermore, someone may give a single ounce of marijuana to anyone over the age of 21 without compensation. Possession of more than one ounce (but less than four ounces) in a public space is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. More than four ounces is a felony charge. Possessing any amount of marijuana within 500 feet of a school or recreation center is also a felony, unless you can show the possession took place within a private residence.
- Sale - In November of 2016, the laws changed to allow retail establishments to sell up to one ounce of marijuana to anyone over the age of 21. However, it’s still illegal for those who do not have a license to sell this substance to do so for compensation in any form. Selling less than one ounce without a license is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in prison and up to $10,000 in fines, and any sale of over one ounce is a felony. Selling to a person under the age of 19 who is three or more years younger than the seller is a particularly harsh felony, earning up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.
- Cultivation - You are allowed to grow your own marijuana: up to six plants with no more than three of them being mature at a time. If they’re kept entirely in your residence for your own personal use and consumption, you can have up to 25 plants at a time! However, exceeding this limit is a felony with a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $10,000. Furthermore, cultivating these plants for someone who is younger than 19 carries the same penalties as though you had sold the substance to them.
Don’t take chances with your future; contact Denali Law Group today!
Understanding Drug Crimes in Alaska
Drug charges which involve distribution, trafficking, or cultivation are typically considered more significant crimes than simply possessing a small amount. At our firm, we are highly familiar with all of the different laws and regulations relating to drug crimes and can use our knowledge to your advantage should you choose to hire us.
In order to be as effective as possible, we take the time to recover evidence and use it to fight the charges you are facing. You deserve to have skilled and experienced representation on your side. We have more than 75 years of combined experience to serve you with and dedicate ourselves to your success.
The types of drug offenses we take on involving controlled substances or illegal drugs include:
Are you facing charges or are under investigation for a drug crime? You should not waste any time before you retain the services of an Anchorage criminal defense attorney to represent you. Any type of drug offense, regardless of the amount involved and the type of drug, can lead to very serious penalties for the accused.
Reasons To Choose Us
- We’re Former Prosecutors
- We Provide Confidential Case Consultations
- We Have 75+ Years Of Collective Experience
- We Deliver The Highest Quality Legal Representation
- We’re Dedicated To Providing Effective Legal Services
Depending on the exact circumstance, you could be looking at significant time in prison on top of any fines and fees. At Denali Law Group, our drug offense lawyers and team are dedicated to gathering the necessary details in order to build a strong defense strategy on your behalf.