Penalties for Minors Charged with a DUI in Alaska

As an individual under the age of 21, the first thing you should know about Alaska is that it is a zero-tolerance state. What does this mean? Well, let’s say you’re caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of anything above 0.00%. You can immediately be arrested and will face charges. Are you drunk? No. Were you posing a threat to others on the road? Maybe not. Nonetheless, the law provides no exceptions to underage drivers found with any alcohol in their system.

Immediate Penalties

Penalties for underage drinking and driving can be crippling. You are held to the same standards as any individual who is charged with a DUI.

The penalties for a first-time DUI include the following:

  • License suspension
  • Minimum 72 hours in jail
  • Maximum fine of $1,500

If you are convicted of a second or subsequent DUI within a period of 10 years, your penalties immediately increase.

Future Consequences

If you are convicted, your penalties could reach far beyond your immediate suspensions, fines, jail time, etc… In fact, your conviction could seriously impact your future.

With a record, you might be passed over in the following:

  • Employment Opportunities
  • College Admissions
  • Volunteer Programs

In addition, you may even find it difficult to buy a car or lease an apartment or house. With the possibility of these consequences present, you need to begin your defense as soon as possible.

Arrested? Call an Anchorage DUI Attorney for Defense.

At Denali Law Group, our firm is made up of former prosecutors with more than 75 years of experience. As such, we are able to provide invaluable legal counsel and guidance during this time. To learn more about your options, don’t hesitate to get in touch with our firm.

Contact Denali Law Group today.

Categories