DUI charges are not taken lightly in the State of Alaska. The penalties for
these crimes are steep and can include jail time, fines, and more. Typically, your
first DUI conviction will involve penalties such as a minimum jail sentence of 72 hours, fines
of up to $1,500, a minimum 90-day license suspension, and mandatory ignition
interlock device installation.
However, if you were charged with DUI while a child was in the car with
you, your charges grow more serious. In fact, your first-time DUI could
suddenly be considered a felony, according to AK ST Sec. 11.51.100. &11.51.110
Alaska has Some of the Harshest DUI Penalties in the U.S.
In Alaska, the age definition of a “child passenger” is anyone
under 16 years of age. This charge can also apply to individuals operating
an aircraft or watercraft while impaired. In addition, your penalties
grow more severe if you are charged with a subsequent DUI within a 15
year period after your first DUI.
Depending on your circumstances, your penalties could include the following:
- Jail Time
- Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device Installation
- Vehicle Impoundment
- Additional Penalties for BAC above .15%
- Insurance Rate Increase after DUI
The minimum sentence for a felony DUI (with no prior felony convictions) includes:
- 120 days in jail
- $10,000 fine
- Lifetime driver’s license revocation
If you do have prior felony convictions, the minimum sentence escalates.
Fight for Your Future with a Wasilla DUI Lawyer!
Denali Law Group, our team of skilled and experienced
defense attorneys is passionate about upholding your rights and ensuring that you have a
chance at the best possible outcome for your case. We investigate all
the circumstances surrounding your charges and your arrest and work to
fight for reduced or possibly even dismissed charges.
To learn more about your legal options,
contact us today! We share more than 75 years of experience and serve clients throughout
Anchorage and Wasilla.