While some are incredibly strict and control marijuana with laws similar
to that of major opiates, others are more forgiving. Alaska is one of
the latter: while our laws are still strict and misconduct could land
you in serious trouble, several actions are legally permitted. If you
want to avoid being arrested and charged with a crime, you’ll want
to make sure you know the laws.
An Alaskan Supreme Court decision gave the opinion that possession and
private consumption of marijuana in your own home is protected by the
right-to-privacy provision in our state’s constitution. As such,
possession of a limited amount (less than four ounces) in your own home
is legal. Furthermore, someone may give a single ounce of marijuana to
anyone over the age of 21 without compensation.
However, possession of more than one ounce (but less than four ounces)
in a public space is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by up to a year
in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000. More than four ounces is a felony
charge. Possessing any amount of marijuana within 500 feet of a school
or recreation center is also a felony, unless you can show the possession
took place within a private residence.
In November of 2016, the laws changed to allow retail establishments to
sell up to one ounce of marijuana to anyone over the age of 21. However,
it’s still illegal for those who do not have a license to sell this
substance to do so for compensation in any form. Selling less than one
ounce without a license is a misdemeanor punishable by up to a year in
prison and up to $10,000 in fines, and any sale of over one ounce is a
felony. Selling to a person under the age of 19 who is three or more years
younger than the seller is a particularly harsh felony, earning up to
10 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000.
You are allowed to grow your own marijuana: up to six plants with no more
than three of them being mature at a time. If they’re kept entirely
in your residence for your own personal use and consumption, you can have
up to 25 plants at a time! However, exceeding this limit is a felony with
a maximum prison sentence of five years and a fine of up to $10,000. Furthermore,
cultivating these plants for someone who is younger than 19 carries the
same penalties as though you had sold the substance to them.
Are you facing a marijuana charge?
Contact a Wasilla Criminal Defense Attorney from Denali Law Group today! Dial 907-357-5297 to schedule a free consultation.